Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
4,274 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I've been thinking of getting into handloading for a while now. Thing is, I'm on a very tight budget, since I'm a university student.

I've purchased two reloading manuals (one from 1981 put out by the NRA and a more modern one) from Half Price Books and have been reading through both to get acquainted with everything before even buying materials.

I very much like the idea of getting the Lee Anniversary kit, since it has everything but the shellholders and dies (and a good electronic scale and calipers, which I have) and can be purchased at Midway for $70+shipping or $80+shipping with the "Modern Reloading" manual.

Thing is, I've seen about 50% of the reloaders on here say that the Lee press is junk and the other 50% say it's a great way to start out. So, I'd like to hear from the people that don't think I should purchase the Lee kit on what someone on a budget should purchase and references to where and for how much.

Once I have finally made some "proper" normal loads for my firearms and am confident in my abilities, I think I'm going to work on some "cat-sneeze" subsonic rounds. That should be interesting out of the CETME. (Oh, and the old NRA manual has one load with Unique powder that runs at 905 fps, which is a subsonic load, so I'm not "experimenting" here. :D).

Thanks gents!

·
Premium Member
30,695 Posts
QUOTE I'd like to hear from the people that don't think I should purchase the Lee kit on what someone on a budget should purchase and references to where and for how much.UNQUOTE
i really want to see what the answer is myself.

·
Registered
15,235 Posts