close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Which Rifle from CMP

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by beaurt, Apr 6, 2002.

1. beaurt

beaurt G&G Newbie

Gents,
    I have been saving up my cashola for about three years now. Just sold my CAI (hope I don't get a flame war started:fuss: ) and got my paperwork in order for the CMP . Now for the hard part, I have to make a selection. I got my education on the M1 strictly from this forum when it had the old format. I know just enough now (I think:rolleyes: ) that I want a pure USGI Garand. What do you guys think about the Danish Garands? I'm leaning torward one of those with the VAR barrel. I don't want rack grade either. If I go for a non Danish, then I have to scrape together a little more money. I'm looking first and foremost for accuracy and then historical correctness. I will utilize this weapon as a shooter, then a target rifle for highpower competition, and finaly to admire as a historical piece. This criteria leads me to the Danish VAR. Do these guns have any type of import makings other than the barrel? Do they look just like the ones that Joe carried in WWII, Korea, and Vietnam? If not, then I will go for a non Danish. Thanks for any replies, opinions, and facts. I can't wait to get that paperwork in the mail.

2. Go for the Springfield VAR

I would go for the Springfield VAR barreled M1.

3. Dvmmatt

Dvmmatt G&G Newbie

I have two Danish M1's. One is SA with a VAR barrel. It has a Danish Walnut stock that has a distinct look that is different than the US riffles. I also have Winchester Dane. It looks like the US riffles. The only other mark is the serial number stamped on the bottom side of the stock just behind the trigger.
    If I was just going for a shooter, I would get a dane.