close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Why Truckers May be the Key to National Concealed Carry Reciprocity

Discussion in 'Political/Religious Topics' started by grizcty, Feb 17, 2017.

1. grizcty

grizcty God, Guns, Glory Forum Contributor

I can tell you first hand.
    As a trucker I have needed and used, a firearm many times.
    Luckily for me, I live in a free state! drive.gif

Why Truckers May be the Key to National Concealed Carry Reciprocity
    by Jordan Michaels on February 16, 2017

[​IMG]
    (Photo: Wikipedia)

The road can be a dangerous place for truckers. Between road-raging drivers, sketchy rest stops, and would-be criminals, many truckers face multiple life threatening incidents throughout the course of their careers.

A firearm is the obvious choice for self-defense, but many truckers hesitate to carry. The reason? The patchwork of concealed carry laws throughout the United States make it virtually impossible to carry a firearm across the country while remaining in compliance with the law.

But some truckers carry anyway—and for good reason. A survey conducted by Overdrive Magazine found that 73 percent of truckers have been in a situation in which they were unarmed but wish they were armed.

Seventy-six percent of respondents have felt themselves to be in danger while driving, delivering, or parking, and nearly a quarter have actually been attacked.

Despite these high numbers, only 33 percent of survey respondents say they have a concealed carry permit that allows them to drive with a firearm. Some trucking companies don’t allow their drivers to carry firearms, but Overdrive highlights the difficulty truckers face if they have routes in all 48 states.