close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

wolf ammo case ruptures

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by toolman, Apr 12, 2002.

1. toolman

toolman Resident Sasquatch Forum Contributor

hi guys,been awhile,(i'm a truck driver,don't get to play but a few days a month).have any of you guys exp. any case failures w/wolf ammo? shot 20 rds through my m-44 about a week ago and just noticed that 2 of the cases are split lengthwise along the shoulder. both are about 1/8" long and only extend to crease in shoulder. gun is in excellent,unissued cond. and have shot approx. 100 rds thru it w/no probs.

2. Dennis

Dennis G&G Evangelist

Texas
    Brass cases?Steel cases? How old is the Ammo
    I have seen newer wolf stuff and older wolff stuff
    If worst comes to worst have a good gunsmith do a chamber casting and measure what you got.
    Other than that I wouldnt worry to much about it.
    Occasionaly steel cased and older brass cased ammunition will split at the neck like you described. I have seen older 3006 and 8mm do the same thing.
    Just wach it and stop shooting if it gets worse .
    I doubt it is the gun.

3. Calvin

Calvin G&G Newbie

Sometimes the cases do that if they aren't properly annealed. My Swedish Mauser was doing the same thing with Winchester brass. Scared me a little, so I made a quick call to a gunsmith and he said that a certain lot of Winchester 6.5x55 wasn't annealed properly. The necks all split on me, in the same manner as your Wolf ammo did. Try another brand, or a different lot of Wolf ammo. As Dennis said, I also doubt it's your rifle. Good luck, and let us know how it turns out.

:target:

4. Big Dog

Big Dog Retired IT Dinosaur Wrangler Forum Contributor