wolf ammo case ruptures

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by toolman, Apr 12, 2002.

1. toolman

toolman Resident Sasquatch Forum Contributor

hi guys,been awhile,(i'm a truck driver,don't get to play but a few days a month).have any of you guys exp. any case failures w/wolf ammo? shot 20 rds through my m-44 about a week ago and just noticed that 2 of the cases are split lengthwise along the shoulder. both are about 1/8" long and only extend to crease in shoulder. gun is in excellent,unissued cond. and have shot approx. 100 rds thru it w/no probs.

2. Dennis

Dennis G&G Evangelist

Texas
    Brass cases?Steel cases? How old is the Ammo
    I have seen newer wolf stuff and older wolff stuff
    If worst comes to worst have a good gunsmith do a chamber casting and measure what you got.
    Other than that I wouldnt worry to much about it.
    Occasionaly steel cased and older brass cased ammunition will split at the neck like you described. I have seen older 3006 and 8mm do the same thing.
    Just wach it and stop shooting if it gets worse .
    I doubt it is the gun.

3. Calvin

Calvin G&G Evangelist

Sometimes the cases do that if they aren't properly annealed. My Swedish Mauser was doing the same thing with Winchester brass. Scared me a little, so I made a quick call to a gunsmith and he said that a certain lot of Winchester 6.5x55 wasn't annealed properly. The necks all split on me, in the same manner as your Wolf ammo did. Try another brand, or a different lot of Wolf ammo. As Dennis said, I also doubt it's your rifle. Good luck, and let us know how it turns out.

:target:

4. Big Dog

Big Dog Retired IT Dinosaur Wrangler Forum Contributor

I've seen this with Russian surplus steel-cased, and with Turk 8mm surplus. As long as it's in the shoulder/neck area, I've been told it's no problem, and of course these cases aren't reloadable anyway, so it's no loss. A case-head rupture is a different matter, and much more serious.

5. toolman