Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

Just thought I'd give you a heads up - this is my first post on the forum, and I'm also pretty new to the whole gun scene, so forgive me if I'm mistakenly breaking any unwritten rules or customs that you have on this forum. With that said, I'll get to explaining my problem as best I can given my somewhat limited gun knowledge.

A couple of months ago, I bought my first gun which is an AK47 WASR10. I bought it used at a gun shop - military surplus. I'd only fired a couple magazines through it in the desert and such since the time I bought it, and yesterday I decided to finally bring it to the range. The first thing I noticed was that it seemed to be loading weird. When I'd pull back on the handle and release, the bolt carrier didn't seem to slam forward all the way, but instead left a little gap between the charging handle and the part of the receiver where it would normally rest. I'd have to slam this forward, and then it would fire. I got a couple of magazines through it with no major problems, but on the 3rd or 4th (30 round mags,) it jammed. The casing AND the bullet would be lodged in so tight that I couldn't even pull back on the charging handle. Luckily, with the help of a mallet, and also removing the return spring, I was able to hammer back the charging handle and retrieve the jammed bullet. I switched ammo, switched mags (another 30 round,) tried again, and it jammed again.